ESA Board

The ESA's Board of Directors are elected at the Annual General Meeting and hold their position for a three-year term. Directors are entitled to a year of complimentary membership for each year successfully served on the Board.

Photo: Nathan Emery

The ESA Board is supported by a series of Working Groups driving the many initiatives and events that make the Society the dynamic organisation it is – view our current structure here.

All members are invited to get involved if they can.

Board nominations open in the lead up to the AGM in November, find out more here. You can join a Working Group or Research Chapter at any time.

Board of Directors


Bek Christensen
Institute for Future Environments
Queensland University of Technology
Brisbane QLD 4000

Vice President – Public Outreach & Policy
Ayesha Tulloch
School of Life and Environmental Sciences
The University of Sydney
Sydney NSW 2006


Vice President – Next Generation
Jodi Price
Institute for Land, Water & Society
Charles Sturt University
Albury, NSW 2640


Vice President – Science & Applications
Jennifer Firn
Queensland University of Technology
Brisbane QLD 4000


Hon. Secretary
Chloe Sato
ACT Parks and Conservation Service
Farrer ACT 2607


Hon. Treasurer
Jeremy Huntley
Environment Protection Authority Victoria
Carlton VIC 3053

Hon. Bulletin Editor
Marie Dade
Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Queensland
St Lucia, Queensland 4072

Austral Ecology, Chair – Editorial Board
Nigel Andrew
Centre for Behavioural and Physiological Ecology Zoology
University of New England
Armidale NSW 2351

Ecological Management & Restoration, Chair- Editorial Board
Perpetua Turner
School of Geography and Environmental Studies
University of Tasmania
Hobart TAS 7001

Ecological Management & Restoration, Editor
Tein McDonald
Tein McDonald & Associates
Woodburn NSW 2472

Book Review Editor
Maggie Watson
School of Environmental Sciences,
Charles Sturt University
Albury NSW 2640

Ordinary Directors

Director – Indigenous Engagement
Gerry Turpin

Director – Early Career Research
Leanda Mason

Director – Development, Fundraising & Sponsorship
Priscilla Stevens-Guiney

ESA staff

Executive Officer
Gail Spina
PO Box 2187
Windsor QLD 4030
Ph: 07 3076 4064

Finance & Membership Officer
Ms Jacky Tierney
Finance enquiries:
Membership enquiries:

PO Box 2187
Windsor QLD 4030
Ph: 0412738911

Science Communication Coordinator

Policy Officer
Cara Marshall