Photo: Hugh Davies

Indigenous Engagement Working Group

Chair: Gerry Turpin

Working group members:

  • Noel Preece, ESA Ordinary Board member
  • Emilie Ens
  • Oliver Costello
  • George Wilson
  • Leah Talbot
  • Conrad Bilney
  • Cass Hunter
  • Gail Spina, ESA Executive Officer


The overall Indigenous Engagement (IE) Working Group objectives are:

  • Develop a broad strategy for support and development of Indigenous Ecological Knowledge structures for implementation under the umbrella of the Society;
  • Advise the ESA Board on Indigenous Engagement opportunities and priorities;
  • Advise the Board of potential funding or sponsorship partnerships to progress IE initiatives.;
  • Establish an active indigenous scientists network and/or Research Chapter;
  • Co-ordinate the annual Indigenous Symposium & Indigenous Plenary in collaboration with the Conference Committee.

Detailed terms of reference

Indigenous Engagement

Invitation to join new Indigenous STEM Professionals network

Thursday, 27 August 2020

Indigenous ecologists are invited to join a national conversation to form a new Indigenous STEM….... Read more