Photo: Kristian Bell

ESA journals Working Group

Chair: Don Driscoll (

Working group members:

  • Nigel Andrew, Editor, Austral Ecology
  • Perpetua Turner, Editorial Chair, EMR
  • Tein McDonald, Editor, EMR
  • Maggie Watson, Book Review Editor
  • Gail Spina, ESA Executive Officer

The overall ESA Journals Working Group objectives are:

  • Assess current budgets, and budget projections of ESA journals (Austral Ecology and Ecological Management & Restoration)
  • Prepare contractual arrangements 18 – 24 months before current Publishing Agreements expire with publishers. Note that clause 12.2 of the 2015 – 2019 publishing agreement for Austral Ecology requires negotiations between Jan 2018 – June 2018 for new agreement to start in 2020
  • Identify threats to publication income
  • Identify new initiatives to enhance the readership, longevity and relevance of the journals
  • Maintain clear differentiation of content between the two journals

Detailed terms of reference


Opportunity: Austral Ecology Deputy Editor-in-Chief

Tuesday, 22 December 2020

Closing: 7 February 2021 (noon AEST) The Ecological Society of Australia (ESA) is the premier….... Read more


Apply for Austral Ecology Deputy Editor-in-chief position

Tuesday, 22 December 2020

Please upload your CV, plus a cover letter (maximum two pages) stating what experience you….... Read more


Austral Ecology Early-Career Reviewer Program

Tuesday, 7 April 2020

The Austral Ecology editorial board has implemented an initiative to provide experience in manuscript reviewing for early career….... Read more