Photo: Kristian Bell

Policy Working Group

Chair:  Ayesha Tulloch (c/o

Working group members

  • Jodie Cosham
  • John Morgan
  • Louise Gilfedder
  • Jeremy Simmonds
  • Alison Ritchie
  • Rochelle Steven
  • Daniel Rogers
  • Cara Sambell
  • Michelle Guzik
  • David Clarke
  • Holly Vuong
  • Bek Christensen
  • Cara Marshall (ESA Policy Project Officer)

The Policy WG was formed in 2017 and still has vacancies for members, ideally from the NT. Read the Terms of Reference below, and if you’re interested in knowing more or getting involved please email


The Policy Working Group is helping to advance the ESA’s goals to promote the application of ecological principles to the use and conservation of natural resources, and to advise government and other groups on matters relevant to ecology.

The objectives of the Policy Working Group are to:

  1. Coordinate the ESA’s:
    a. response to policy consultations dealing with science policy and environmental policy, and
    b. comment on environmental matters of public concern;
  2. Improve external communications and outreach with policymakers in State/Territory and Federal government;
  3. Develop effective methods of engagement with policymakers who have particular interests or responsibilities in science, ecology and the environment; and
  4. Utilise the existing outreach of policymakers to promote and advocate for the work of ESA and ecologists in Australia.

Detailed terms of reference

Equity & Diversity

Survey Series Results

Wednesday, 17 February 2021

Equity and Diversity - November 2018 Policy - Nov/Dec 2020.... Read more


ESA Survey Series – Policy Working Group

Saturday, 14 November 2020

The ESA is committed to engaging with matters of public policy, particularly in: “promoting the….... Read more


Scientists’ Declaration: Strong legislation needed to curb Australia’s accelerating rate of land clearing

Wednesday, 26 August 2020

Australia remains a global deforestation hotspot(1). Eastern Australia has recently experienced unusually intense fires, and….... Read more