Photo: Kristian Bell

2016 Wiley Next Generation Ecologist Award Winner

Congratulations to Dale Nimmo of Charles Sturt University, recipient of the 2016 Wiley Next Generation Award. The Wiley Next Generation Ecologist Award is an initiative aimed directly at supporting Early Career Researchers through a research and professional development grant and Plenary opportunity. This award not only recognises excellence in early career research but also provides the ECR sector with a voice at our annual meeting focusing specifically on the future.

Dale will receive a $3000 grant which he intends to use to further his research project “Can Indigenous fire regimes forestall an extinction crisis?”, and will deliver the Next Generation Plenary at ESA16 in Fremantle in December 2016. For those who don’t know Dale, he provides some
background about his motivations and research history below

“I am an animal ecologist interested in how ‘big’ disturbances (fire,drought, land clearing) influence biodiversity. I am inspired by Australian landscapes, curious about the processes that shape them, and fundamentally concerned about the direction they are headed. My research seeks to find solutions to forestall the decline of ecosystems, with a focus on Australian ecosystems. I completed my PhD at Deakin University in 2011 on the impact of fire on animal communities. After that, I undertook a research fellowship on ecological resilience and its relevance to applied ecology, with a focus on the response of animal communities to Australia’s ‘Millennium Drought’ (2001-2009). I was then awarded an Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Fellowship at Deakin University in 2013, during which time I continued to work on fire ecology and resilience, and Bulletin of the Ecological Society of Australia Issue 2, Volume 46, Aug 2016 25 became interested in the ecological role of predators. In 2015, I took up a lecturing position at Charles Sturt University, Albury, NSW. I am grateful and humbled to be awarded the ESA’s Next Generation Ecologist Award.”

ESA is grateful to our publishing partners Wiley for supporting this important initiative. Applications for next year’s award open February 1, 2017.